2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-04

It was a dark and stormy night at Devil's Footprint...I’d planned on taking a picture of the sunset at Devil’s Footprint–a geological wonder where the ocean has slowly but surely eroded the stone into the shape of a foot.  There are two on Iki, with a good, old folk story about a Japanese king defeating a barbarian ogre.

The weather, however, did not cooperate.

The wind was epic–pushing me away, almost stopping me from walking several times.  No rain, but the spray from the ocean waves well made up for that.  Before I went out, I even heard great thunderclaps that shook my house.  Halfway through taking photos, I heard the Iki loudspeakers blare that the evening ferries and jetfoils off the island were cancelled.

Nature is a gorgeous sight to behold.

One response

  1. GORGEOUS!

    January 6, 2010 at 02:08

Leave a Reply

