2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-11

My current obsession.

I’ll admit it, I’m a bit of a geek. And by a bit, I mean–compared to your average joe–a lot. I played Dungeons and Dragons throughout college (and enjoyed it). I own two consoles now. (The xbox was my 2009 Christmas present to myself.) I love gadgets and technology. I read lots of fantasy YA, general fiction, and science fiction. I wear glasses, but not all the time.

So the moral of the story is, one of my favorite ways to relax is to kick back and turn into a vegetable. And, luckily, Bioware has made several great ways for me to accomplish that.  When I got the xbox, I bought Mass Effect and Dragon Age.  Mass Effect 2 is coming out soon.  And I’m madly in love with all of them.  I played Dragon Age for a total of 13 hours today.  No, I’m not kidding.  Yes, I realize that’s really, really sad.  I’m super lame.

3 responses

  1. You’d really get along with my husband then. He played Dragon Age on New Years’ Day for nearly 13 hours too. 😛 He also plays Mass Effect, WoW and a slew of other video games.

    I’m more of a geek when it comes to history and documentaries and such while he’s the gamer geek. Although he recently got me involved in a game of Dungeons and Dragons, and I’m having tons of fun with it and developing my character 🙂

    January 12, 2010 at 04:32

    • K@

      I’ve never played WoW, but that’s only because I like to have an achievable end to my games. The only part of my life that should have no discernible end is my life. Thus all MMORPGs are closed to me. Probably a good thing in the end. As Dragon Age and Mass Effect have so aptly shown, I have an obsessive personality when it comes to certain things.

      What sort of character are you in D&D? My favorite I thought up was a halfling barbarian, but I also enjoyed my black elven cleric. She was funny. And melodramatic. And so stereotypical first character. XD

      January 12, 2010 at 17:28

  2. I’m a half elf ranger. She’s a loner type, since in the gamemaster’s world, half elves are *extremely* rare (LOL and we have two in our group…the only two “known” ones in the world). She’s normally pretty anti-social but she can’t be when she’s in a group of five others. 😛 She can be really sassy and short tempered too. It’s still pretty early on in the chapter we’re playing so she’s still developing. But I’m having fun with it!

    Next time I think I’d like to play a halfling. We’ve got one halfling in our group who’s a swashbuckler–in this world, the halflings are seafaring type. Her name is the best in the group: Helena Handbasket 😛 And she lives up to every part of that name!

    January 13, 2010 at 13:31

Leave a Reply

