2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-12

Kumiko-sensei.I teach regularly with four Japanese Teachers of English (JTEs): Kumiko-sensei (at my smallest school–under 30 students total), Fumiko-sensei (at my second smallest school–about 60 students total), and Michiko- and Ryoko-sensei (both at my largest school, and the largest middle school on the island, with about 250 students).

This is Kumiko-sensei, who very graciously accepted when I asked to take her picture today.  She’s originally from the Nagasaki city area, and a delight to work with because she’s so relaxed.  If I want to do something random, or if I’m feeling lazy and want the students to write a dialogue, she’s okay with it.  In fact, sometimes she’s lazier than I am!  (But not usually, thank goodness–one of us has to be responsible.)  So here’s to Kumiko-sensei: 本当にすごくて楽しい先生ので、ありがとうございます!私はあなたと教えることが大好きですよ。

(I promised her I would write at least one sentence a day in Japanese from now on.  In return, she’s journalling in English for at least one sentence a day.)

3 responses

  1. 🙂

    I really need to take that Japanese class…it would be so nice to learn another language!

    I’m guessing the Japanese says something close to “You’re a really fun teacher, thanks”. LOL, I had to go and input it in a translate engine, which gave me garble (no surprise there :P)

    January 13, 2010 at 13:36

    • K@

      That’s really close! I tried to say (I don’t know how effectively), “For being such an amazing and fun teacher, thank you! I love teaching with you.” She really is pretty damn awesome. She even gets my sarcasm, which is pretty much extraordinary for a Japanese person.

      January 13, 2010 at 16:53

  2. Yeah that is! From what I’ve heard from others who’ve spent time over in Japan teaching, they say that sarcasm wasn’t something that many Japanese understood. I guess I never really knew that!

    January 14, 2010 at 05:01

Leave a Reply

