2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-13

I call her Nice-sensei at my regular blog because she's so kind.I teach regularly with four Japanese Teachers of English (JTEs): Kumiko-sensei (at my smallest school–under 30 students total), Fumiko-sensei (at my second smallest school–about 60 students total), and Michiko- and Ryoko-sensei (both at my largest school, and the largest middle school on the island, with about 250 students).

This is Michiko-sensei, who barely even batted an eye when I asked to take her picture (though she did attempt to fix her hair adorably).  会った人から、美智子先生は一番優しいと思います。She’s always ready to help me if I have a problem, even if she’s up to her ears in work.  She never has a negative word to say about anybody.  Her car is a confection of lace and pink inside a cool-green container.  She is the epitome of a true Japanese lady: quiet, polite, thoughtful, respectful, and very intelligent.  I’m extremely lucky to be able to teach with her.

Leave a Reply

