2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-15

Eiko laughing at Guy.  Guy's pretty funny.Every Friday, the ALTs on Iki go to a fantastic curry restaurant to eat together and with our Japanese friends.  This curry is called “navy curry” because the gravy is spicier and thicker than usual Japanese curry.  At this restaurant, the curry is also really cheap–my plate is 550 yen, maybe six dollars.  And it’s the best curry I’ve eaten in Japan.

Here’s Guy and Eiko.  Guy is famous on the island because he’s pretty much the tallest person on Iki.  He eats like a marathon runner.  Last year, we discovered that the curry place made a plate of curry even bigger than the largest written on the menu, so this time–our first back in the New Year–Guy got the biggest plate available.

And yes, he ate it all.  In about ten minutes.  And then he ate Christine’s leftovers.  And he was still hungry afterwards.

I really missed curry and all the ALTs.  I’m so glad they’re back.  I laughed a lot last night, and it was magnificent.

3 responses

  1. That looks good! I’m not one for spicy food but I’d certainly give it a try.

    January 19, 2010 at 02:05

  2. Moira (Guy's mum)

    Good to see my son tucking in – as usual
    I love this site, it gives a real insight into life on Iki, keep up the good work Kat.

    January 23, 2010 at 04:35

    • K@

      Moira! I’m so glad you’re enjoying the pictures. I’ll do my best to keep them interesting. 🙂

      January 23, 2010 at 11:37

Leave a Reply

