2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-17

Yeah, you wish you were this bad ass.So, as some of you may know, I play taiko on Thursdays with the other ALTs on the island and with some Japanese people.  We’re casual about it (i.e., once a week for one hour), so we’re not very good.  It’s fun, though, because making noise is always exciting.

These girls, on the other hand, are fan-friggin-tastic.  Some of the local high schoolers, they’re well-known among the ALTs here to just kick taiko butt.  They have lots of energy, make up all their own routines, incorporate interesting theatrics (which my taiko group does not), and have a level of coordination that I could never hope to achieve.  Today they had a concert, and one ALT–Ava “TANK” Flave–participated.  She did super well, but I’m incapable of taking a good picture of her, apparently.’

Fun fact: one of these students is a former one of mine.  She’s wonderful.

3 responses

  1. That’s so awesome! I always saw the taiko in anime and on the internet wondering how it would feel to play those things.

    January 17, 2010 at 16:52

    • K@

      It’s quite invigorating, usually, though I’m honestly not very good. My favorite part is when I scream. I have a really solid キャーー!

      January 18, 2010 at 00:14

  2. I love watching taiko performances on YouTube and I saw an awesome one when I was down at Disney World. Seeing it in person definitely is better than watching a video of it 🙂

    January 19, 2010 at 02:09

Leave a Reply

