2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-21

The obaa-chan proprietor of our favorite ramen bar.So every Thursday, in addition to fan dancing, I also practice taiko.  Following my disastrous attempts to create rhythm, I often go to a local ramen shop with the other ALTs.  (This is not as common as going to curry, and usually–because it’s so late–our Japanese friends don’t come.)

Ramen in Japan is not the crappy “Top Ramen”-esque grossness you fools eat in America, but nor is it the delicious, fresh pulled noodles of real 拉面 in China.  It has its own salty, fragrant flavor.  My favorite ramen so far is Hakata ramen (in Fukuoka), with just the perfect amount of vinegar to give it a solid tang.  Still, the obaa-chan and her quiet husband have a nice setup here, and their ramen is not only bigger, but cheaper than any Hakata fare.  Plus they’re nice folks, and we know them.

The bottles in the background are Iki Shochu–a type of barley whiskey that the island makes.  It’s about 35 percent alcohol, I believe.  I’m not the biggest fan of shochu, but it’s the Chosen Drink of Kocho-Senseis here.

2 responses

  1. I hate that Top Ramen stuff. People in college lived off it and the smell of it was enough to make me gag.

    I want to try this stuff–the real ramen 🙂 But I don’t think I could stomach the barley whiskey…

    January 22, 2010 at 02:49

    • K@

      I haven’t eaten Top Ramen or anything instant like that since high school, but people here actually eat it all the time. Mind boggling since they can get the real deal easily and not for much more yen. They’re both reaaally salty, though.

      January 22, 2010 at 08:10

Leave a Reply

