2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-23

Megu-chan checking the status of the nabe.Despite having an icky sickness (I don’t know what), I dragged myself out of my house and away from my kotatsu to see Megumi, our friend from the Gotos.  Going between the Gotos and Iki, even though they’re both part of Nagasaki prefecture, is hard business, so I always try to see her when she comes for a visit.  She’s an English teacher on the Gotos, gorgeous, tall, and both super Japanese and super not-Japanese.  She’s also hilarious.

The nabe and tempura at this restaurant (we call it the Face Place because it has a giant face on the side of the building) was super oishii.  And Megumi didn’t even yell at me once no matter how often I said, “Can I eat it yet?”, which is pretty amazing.

2 responses

  1. OK this is gonna completely show my geographic ignorance but where are the Gotos? Are they smaller islands?

    January 26, 2010 at 05:00

    • K@

      The Gotos are a group of dozens of small-to-largish islands (the largest is about twice the size of Iki) situated to the west (?) of Nagasaki-ken proper.
      Here is a map of Nagasaki Prefecture

      The island furthest to the left is Tsushima, gigantic, and halfway between Korea and Japan. The top left is Iki, the grouping of islands beneath that is the Gotos, and the big thing on the right is Nagasaki proper, the part actually connected to Kyuushuu.

      Don’t worry about it. Yesterday I had a fun time trying to figure out where-in-Japan is Fujioka city, and I could not for the life of me find the prefecture it’s in.

      January 26, 2010 at 17:04

Leave a Reply

