2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

01-25

Not the best book she ever wrote, but maybe one of the funniest.To anyone who purports to be good friends with me, they know I’m madly in love with anything by Jane Austen.  I own several versions of Pride and Prejudice, be it movie, book, or CD form.  (Though I have only read five of her six published novels, Mansfield Park being the missing piece of the puzzle.  I blame it on the name of the heroine.  Fanny?  Seriously?  How can I read that and not giggle?)

Today I watched the 2008 TV miniseries, Lost in Austen, and it was just like eating a giant plate of Holiday Poppyseed Cookies: fattening, overly-sweet, but completely wonderful.  Total wish-fulfillment of any Jane Austen fangirl.  But seriously, thanks go to my amazing older sister Anna and my spectacular friend Emma for recommending it to me.  I’m gonna have to buy it when I get back to the states, hands down.  It’s going in the collection.  🙂

3 responses

  1. You’ll also need to try and watch the new Masterpiece Theater mini-series of Emma. After a few days they might post it on their website (which is PBS/masterpiece or something like that).

    The first part aired last night and I must say I think enjoy this version MUCH more than the Gwyneth Paltrow version (although that one was good for being such a short movie). If you can’t watch it online, you’ll definitely have to watch it when you get back to the States.

    January 26, 2010 at 05:03

    • K@

      How new is it? I hadn’t realized they’d made a series of Emma yet.

      January 26, 2010 at 17:06

  2. Pretty new, I’m guessing. This is the first time it’s being aired on PBS anyway.

    Here’s the link. They have the first episode uploaded already; hope you can see it:

    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/masterpiece/emma/watch.html

    January 28, 2010 at 02:57

Leave a Reply

