2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

02-02 / “B” is for “Bread”

Most people in Japan think "pan" is English.In case you weren’t aware, and I mean, this is something really, super, extraordinarily difficult to figure out, but Japanese people eat a lot of rice.  They use rice like we use wheat: turn it into rice cakes, rice powder, rice cookies, fried rice, whatever, you name it.  However, this excessive use of rice means they’re not so big on the bread.  Which has a corollary in that bread here is generally… not good, to put it mildly.

This little store here sells fresh bread every day, but all they have is plain white bread.  I haven’t had sourdough, real rye, wheat, or really… anything, for a year and a half.  It’s a sad existence, despite the proliferation of delicious rice.

49 days!

2 responses

  1. TANK

    gah I want pumpernickel bread with spinach dip more than anything right now..bah I’ve never eaten so much white bread in my life!

    February 3, 2010 at 20:30

  2. I don’t know what I’d do without my bread! I cannot imagine it…

    But I do love me some rice, so I could probably do OK…maybe…

    February 4, 2010 at 13:47

Leave a Reply

