2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

02-07 / “G” is for “Guy” (Chico Moneybags McGee)

Readying the attack.Guy (codename: Chico, Moneybags McGee) is our friendly, neighborhood Brit.  For most Americans, at first, I’d say he’s a revelation.  He has a very singular sense of humor (I like it), way of speech (what is this lorry you speak of?), and appetite (ahem: 01-15).  His mother, Moira (Hi!) is also the stuff of legend on Iki.  Like TANK, he’s easy to spot as he stands heads-and-shoulders above almost every other person on the island.  But he takes it all in stride.  Long, long strides.

Even though he’s characteristically blunt, and uses sarcasm more often than normal speech to get the point across, he’s actually quite a considerate and–dare I say it?–sensitive fellow (gasp!).  Despite his humor, he’s not at all condescending, and because of it, he’s a joy to be around.  I laugh more often around Guy (and his partner in crime, Nathan) more than at any other time I can think of.  He can listen to me blather about nothing important, sympathize when I’m pissed off or frustrated, and empathize about crap situations when necessary.  He’s easy to talk to and incredibly sincere, and I’m so, so glad I finally got to know him well during our escapades in Nagasaki last weekend.

Guy, I wish you the best of luck when you leave us in August, and I’ll try to keep my pleas of “Don’t go!” to a minimum.  Thanks for keeping me from taking myself to seriously, and reminding me that there is a life outside of video games (however slim a life that may be).  And it’s always nice to have someone who takes to my cooking with such gusto.  I’ll miss your Christine impression and Hannah Montana obsession when you’re gone.  But I’ll be sure to come visit you when you settle up in Honshuu, and heeey, we’ve still got five more months!

CAMP ROCK!

5 responses

  1. Moira (Guy's mum)

    What lovely comments about Guy! You have summed him up so well, it brought tears to my eyes, thank you so much, Kat. Just one scary point – why am I the stuff of legend on Iki?
    Keep posting it’s all excellent stuff x

    February 9, 2010 at 02:32

    • K@

      I think the real question is: why WOULDN’T you be the stuff of legend on Iki?

      😀

      You’ll have to ask Guy. He started it. We all just agreed with his stellar analysis.

      February 11, 2010 at 22:36

  2. Tim (Moira's friend)

    She is the stuff of legend in the UK too!

    Did you know that Guy cheats at Fantasy Football? Just in case you thought he was perfect!

    February 18, 2010 at 21:05

    • K@

      I would never assume Guy was perfect, because to be perfect he would have to let me eat food off his plate if he ordered something particularly delicious looking, and we all know that’s never going to happen. And also, because he’s a boy. Boys are biologically incapable of perfection. True story. 😀

      February 20, 2010 at 19:28

  3. Tim (Moira's friend)

    I know boys aren’t perfect. I have been told so many times over the years. Sadly I am no longer a boy and I am still being told.

    February 28, 2010 at 20:52

Leave a Reply

