2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

02-09 / “I” is for “Imagine”

A moth hanging out on the side of my house.Found this nice, hairy specimen on the outside wall of my house when I went to take a picture of the lamp.  Iki has some pretty intense bugs–huge centipedes of doom, praying mantis’, a creepy not-so-doomy centipede called “gejigeji,” and of course, giant cockroaches.  Then again, we also have huge, spectacular butterflies.

Staring at this palm-sized friend of mine, I wondered what exactly life as an insect would be like.  Nasty, brutish, and short, obviously, but aside from that… is there any level of self-awareness?  Any yearnings besides food and fornication?  I’m guessing not… but just imagine it…

2 responses

  1. Blech, I hate bugs. I think I’d scream bloody murder if I saw the huge centipede of doom.

    February 11, 2010 at 04:26

    • K@

      I usually do that too. And then after I scream, I slowly back away and grab the implements of death: a bucket to trap it with, and the nerve-gas bug spray. It’s pretty intense.

      February 11, 2010 at 09:39

Leave a Reply

