2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

02-14 / “N” is for “Nathan (Nat-chan)”

Nat-chan is Mr. Happy.First an apology: I know you wanted a silly picture Nat-chan, but I decided this one was too good to pass up.

Nathan is one of those people you can’t help but like.  In Japan, his name is a curse because it gets katakana-ized (how Japanese people pronounce foreign words) to “ネーサン” –nee-san–which sounds a great deal like the Japanese word for “older sister.”  (Thus whenever I talk about him to Japanese people who’ve never met him, they think I’m talking about a girl.)  Luckily, he’s got a fantastic sense of humor (especially along with his partner-in-crime, Guy), but he’s also intelligent and serious, when warranted.

Nat-chan’s had a love affair with Japan for a long time, apparently.  He’s been studying Japanese for practically a decade (I’m rounding up), so his Japanese is really amazing, too. He and I also have similar goals for the future, so he’s great to talk to about politics and other current events.  In fact, he usually knows more about Japanese political happenstances than your average Japanese person (though that’s not too hard).  And sometimes, when he talks about his greatest fear, I laugh so hard that I cry.

What I like most about Nat-chan is how sincere and easygoing he is.  (It also helps that, like Guy, he loves eating my delicious baked goods.)  He has a very optimistic view about lots of things in life that put my slightly cynical ideas into good perspective.  But at the same time, he’s a pragmatic dude. Don’t ask me how that works, but it totally does.

And it’s nice to have someone else on the island who gets my (poorly executed) Dungeons and Dragons jokes.

Glad you’ve signed on for another year, Nat-chan.  I’ll cross my fingers that Guy’s replacement is a dude (though one who won’t trigger your greatest fear).  Hope the brownies treat you well.  🙂

One response

  1. Megumi

    🙂

    February 16, 2010 at 23:34

Leave a Reply

