2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

02-17 / “Q” is for “Quixotic”

The leaning tower of romance.Definition (per dictionary.com in case there are those of you, like me, who have never read Don Quixote and were thus laboring under the mistaken impression that this word meant something like, I dunno…, mysterious):

quix-ot-ic [kwik-sot-ix]

-adjective

1. resembling or befitting Don Quixote.

2. extravagantly chivalrous or romantic; visionary, impractical, or impracticable.

3. impulsive and often rashly unpredictable.

Romance novels = #2 FTW!

I’ve been reading romance novels since the age of 13 when I first snuck into my sister’s room to steal one.  (I once idolized my sister.  Thus, I wished to read anything she did.)  Sissy had hundreds of romance novels, so my collection since coming to Japan is pretty much chump change, though considering the dearth of English books here, I think I’ve done pretty good.  All I can say is, thank God for amazon and the creation of the kindle, because getting a book right when I want it is pretty much the greatest idea ever.  Especially when they’re escapist romps that require no real effort to read on my part and can be finished within an afternoon.

By the way, I in no way recommend every book in that stack.  Several in them are not good at all.  But you take what you can get in Japan.  Or at least you did until you got the kindle (squee!).

One response

  1. That is one big tower of romance books! The kindle also makes storing books easier too, although I don’t have one yet.

    February 19, 2010 at 04:05

Leave a Reply

