2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

02-23 / “W” is for “Whirl”

Spinning is awesome.Tuesdays are days I practice Flamenco.  For those who don’t know, Flamenco is actually very popular in Japan.  There are groups in most major cities and, obviously, in some teensy tiny country towns, too.  I think it’s a bit funny that I’m learning Spanish dance in Japan, but what can you do?

Aside from giggling while our instructor tries to teach 10-year-old girls how to move their hips and not their whole body, one of the best parts of flamenco is the excessive whirl-y motion of our skirts.  They’re big, with lots of frills and POLKA-DOTS and they make me super happy.

2 responses

  1. I love whirly skirts 🙂 I have one that I call my “hippie” skirt and I am always twirling in circles when I wear it. Something about skirts like that make me feel like a little girl.

    February 25, 2010 at 08:37

    • K@

      I know, right? One of my favorite things to do in big skirts is sit on the ground and be pleased when it covers my whole legs. Why that makes me so happy I have yet to discover, but for some reason, whirl-y skirts make me feel like a princess.

      February 25, 2010 at 17:48

Leave a Reply

