2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

03-01

Have yet to discern the meaning of Speking...For winter term, I decided to switch things up and try to do a real conversation test for the oral exam.  As in the students have to try and have an actual conversation with one another in English.  This is mind-boggling for them.  English instruction in middle school (and especially high school) is heavily focused on reading, writing, and listening.  Who gives a jiff about speaking?

Well, I do, and I’m sick of my students only able to answer random and useless questions like, “Is this your grandmother’s pen?”  The picture above was the conversation put together by two of my best students, and they did amazing!  Yes, the English is occasionally awkward, but I got the idea of it, and they did it with such enthusiasm.  I was so happy.

Leave a Reply

