2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

03-15

Glad to know I'm not the only one who likes turning nouns into adjectives by just adding "y".This sort of “Engrish” isn’t actually something that’s grammatically incorrect  nor has indecipherable meaning.  Rather, it represents the difference in the way Japanese people speak versus westerners.  Japanese people are very earnest and polite in their speech.  Everything has a sort of poetry to it.  They also like stating the obvious.  To a westerner, then, direct translation can seem very odd, if not downright cliche and awkward.  But that’s just the Japanese way.  I’m getting used to it.  Slowly.

I’m not as sarcastic as I used to be, for one.

😦

2 responses

  1. Interesting differences in culture.

    March 16, 2010 at 22:44

  2. This is why I think I’m going to have an incredibly hard time writing a historical set in Japan 😛 I have to make it coherent to Western readers yet try to make it sound different…and it hurts my brain.

    March 17, 2010 at 02:29

Leave a Reply

