2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

04-29

Chin-chin!Who would’ve guessed that, on a tiny island between Japan and Korea, I’d struggle to remember any shred of Spanish that I’ve randomly learned over the years?  That I would be mindlessly jealous of my sister and brother-in-law’s fluency?  That I would add a latin language to my growing list of languages I want to study?  (Post Japanese and reviewing Chinese goes: Farsi, Korean, Arabic, and now Spanish.)

Well, I guess doing Flamenco is causing more crazy happenstances like this one, where I met a fantastic Flamenco dancer named Rebecca (sp?) and her boyfriend Reuben (???).  They’re from Spain, they live in Fukuoka, and they speak next-to-no English and nearly no Japanese.  There was only one person at this dinner (far left) who spoke all three languages we used that night.  It was madness!  But hilarious!  There was actual communication, which was nice.  I particularly enjoyed Rebecca’s amusement when I explained that I started to learn flamenco in Japan.  (Spanish dance in Japan?)  And then there was a lot of laughter over innuendos.  (The toilet water isn’t flowing!)

A great night!  Though I’ve had better food on Iki.  XD

Leave a Reply

