2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

05-09

I wonder if it's against the law to not make a peace sign?This is an excellent picture for a number of reasons:

  1. The girl on the left, Shannon, is from Canada and was my predecessor.  I don’t know her very well, but she’s very kind, and loves Iki, so that means a lot.  People still mistake me for her.  Because we obviously look so similar.  Especially as I’m about a head taller than her.
  2. The girl on the right, Miwa, is from Iki.  I recently learned that her father RAISES BEES.  I find this fascinating.  He’s going to be 70 soon!  JUST LIKE MY DAD.  DAD, START RAISING BEES!  So she’s going to take me to her house and show me the bees soon.  This is wonderful.
  3. The restaurant this was taken in is Mochajavva.  Mochajavva has fantastic burgers, pizza, and other random foodstuffs, but the only coffee they have is of the instant variety.
  4. Yes, I find #3 endlessly amusing.  It’s so Japanese.
One response

  1. LOL, I suppose all of us foreigners look the same to them? Maybe just like how some people think all Asians look the same…which is so not true! I guess it’s the fact our eyes can sometimes be culturallly untrained. Or something.

    May 19, 2010 at 02:59

Leave a Reply

