2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

06-02

Monkey see, monkey do.Iki isn’t the most famous tropical island in Japan (win for Okinawa…), but we do have our share of interesting features.  For example: the aptly named Monkey Rock.  Everyone tells me that this stone was carved by nature alone, and indeed, if you walk to another side of the rock, it appears to be random lumps.  Still, I find it a little unbelievable.  But then, who am I to judge?  If you visit Iki, one of the requirements is to see Monkey Rock, even though it doesn’t do much.  It’s also a good adventure to try and pose so it looks like you’re kissing the monkey.  (Which, to my eye, looks more like a gorilla, but hey…)

I am yet again having fun with long exposures (this one?  about seven minutes, I think).  It proves, however, that I will never be able to get an epically long star trails shot with the ocean in the photo.  Too many squid/fishing boats with their excessively strong lights mucking up the picture.  This weekend I think I’ll try and find a good spot for a one- or two-hour shot.  (If the weather cooperates.)

2 responses

  1. Moontree Ranch

    Clamping down the aperture might help with these longer shots

    June 3, 2010 at 00:17

    • K@

      Haha, and also improve the depth of field. I’ll definitely start going above an F8 (or more?) when I experiment with the 30+ minute shots. 😀

      June 3, 2010 at 07:52

Leave a Reply

