2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

06-09

you would not believe your eyes if 10 million fireflies lit up the world as you fell asleepJune is firefly season here on Iki–when the fireflies leave their usual living (hibernating?) place in the high ground and fly down to fresh water streams to mate.  It’s during this time that you can see them flitting around in various places on the island.  With Yuka here, we decided to give finding them a go and got super lost in the process of trying to find a new place.  We failed, so went to the old standby near one of my elementary schools.  There were about 30 fireflies there.  This photo is about a 5 minute exposure, I would guess.  Maybe three.  I wasn’t really keeping track.

As a note, I really like watching fireflies, but every time I see them I think of the incredibly gorgeous but depressing movie, Graveyard of the Fireflies (ホタルの墓).  If you haven’t seen it an you’re in the mood for a good cry, then rent it.  Yes, it’s an anime.

2 responses

  1. I’ve seen that movie. Bawled. My. Eyes. Out.

    Lots of fireflies here in Ohio too. A couple have even made it into the house and I’ve had to rescue them before the cats kill them (they’re the only bugs I’ll even consider touching :P)

    June 15, 2010 at 13:09

    • K@

      Not even ladybugs?

      Yeah, Grave of the Fireflies and Nobody Knows are two of about five movies that have actually succeeded in making me cry. I tear up quite a lot, especially with epic music, but that salt water dropping from my eye is rare.

      June 15, 2010 at 17:09

Leave a Reply

