2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

07-12

If I were feeling artsy, I'd call this "midnight pilgrimage."So tonight, I was all, “Hey, I haven’t been putting that much effort into my photos this last week.  Let’s go out and TRY.  Yeah, effort!”

Never again.  At least not until November.

So the picture turned out okay.  (It’s at a shrine a stone’s throw–literally–from one of my elementary schools.)  I even thought the symbolism was interesting.  And I went outside even though it’s raining.  Amazing!  Things I don’t like about this photo?  It all has to do with the production.

  1. Note that I’m dressed from head to toe.  It’s about 85+ degrees with some excessively solid humidity.
  2. Note that I’m dressed from head to toe.  This was to keep mosquitoes off.
  3. I GOT FOUR MOSQUITO BITES.
  4. TWO WENT THROUGH MY JEANS.
  5. MY JEANS.
  6. I hate mosquitoes.
  7. Also, I need a production assistant to shine my flash so that I don’t have to stand in place for forty seconds a time and still be nothing but a ghost.
  8. It’s a good thing D-Mug is coming soon.  HUZZAH.
  9. Also, my shoes are molding.  Again.

Oh, Japan.

2 responses

  1. Tim

    Yo Kat, this is Tim (Guy’s friend from Kobe).

    This shot is dope, definitely worth the effort (don’t think I would attempt a self-portrait during rainy season!). The ghosting makes the photo for me.

    If you can’t find someone to hold your flash then get some light stands. I have two that I use with umbrellas for portraits. Might need some wireless triggers too.

    July 20, 2010 at 16:52

    • K@

      I’m pleased that you like it, but I really hate bug bites. Though I think a lot of my hate that particular day stemmed from the fact that they went through my jeans! Damn mutant mosquitoes.

      Light stands?! You’re all fancy shmancy. 😀

      July 21, 2010 at 21:11

Leave a Reply

