2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

08-01

Yet another random festival.D-Mug and I made it to Tokyo after a harrowing overnight bus ride from Kyoto.  (All right, it wasn’t harrowing.  It was just awful.)  We couldn’t check into our hostel until 3pm–and we’d arrived at 6am.  All this would have been fine had our previous week-ish of adventures not coated D-Mug’s feet in blisters.  Thus, we spent a large majority of the morning loitering at a local Starbucks (double shot non-fat no-whip white mocha FTW!) and then made our way to a movie theater where we watched the newest Studio Ghibli production.  (It was very good.)

Upon leaving the movie theater/mall complex, I heard some taiko and snapped this photo of a random festival.  I don’t know what it’s for.  But people were dancing and wearing yukata, and that’s cool.

PS–It’s nearing midnight.  I’m pretty sure I slept for about two hours last night.  I’m exhausted.  So feel my love and dedication in updating this blog.  That is all.

PPS–Happy birthday in 11 days mom!  (In case I forget.)

2 responses

  1. >a random festival. I don’t know what it’s for.

    Nice photo.
    It’s a “Bon-odori” festival. Which are festivals to honor the deceased and are common all over Japan in late July / August.

    I went to a big one in Tokyo:
    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2010/07/17/mitama-2010/

    August 1, 2010 at 23:56

    • K@

      The o-bon festivals I’ve been to look nothing like this–usually firecrackers and fireworks and pulling strange mounds of objects to the ocean. And also parades with photos of the deceased. But I guess if it’s an “odori,” then that makes sense. 🙂

      August 2, 2010 at 11:27

Leave a Reply

