2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

08-03

I LOVE STUDIO GHIBLI.So funny story.  This morning (08-04) when I was putting my memory card into my camera, I formatted it.  I always format my memory card after downloading the photos–keeps the card in peak condition.  Except this time, I hadn’t downloaded the photos onto my computer.  OH NOS.  Which means that this picture was actually taken by D-Mug.  On D-Mug’s camera.  (I took a very similar picture, except the person in it is D-Mug, and not me.)  Hence the metadata showing that it was taken by a Nikon.

In ANY case, this was after D-Mug and I gallavanted our way through the Museum of Contemporary Art in Tokyo.  After visiting Studio Ghibli on 08-02, we saw an advertisement for some sort of exhibition that had to do with The Borrower Arrietty, and we decided to check it out.

IT WAS SO AWESOME.

Let me repeat that.

SO AWESOME.

The creators of this exhibit were focusing on “turning fantasy into reality”–i.e., the change from an idea into a reality, especially in movies.  So this exhibit took Arietty’s home in the anime–she’s a borrower, like a little person about the height of your hand–and made it big enough for us to walk through!  We turned into borrowers!  It was so interesting.  All the little touches and world building that made the house.  D-Mug and I went through it twice.  Giggling and oohing and aahing the whole time.  My favorite part was Arrietty’s room.  It was covered in grass and flowers that she’d taken from the lawn, and she had a pencil which would have been half the size of her body!  Genius!

2 responses

  1. April

    I loved the Borrower’s as a kid. I’d loved to go through Arrietty’s room. How very cool.

    August 5, 2010 at 00:05

    • K@

      Well, if you can make it to Tokyo, the exhibit goes through October, I believe.

      August 6, 2010 at 09:27

Leave a Reply

