2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

08-10

China likes their Buddhas big.This reflects the remainder of my trip through China.  China denies any access to both facebook and wordpress, so I couldn’t update the blog.

If you ever make it to Chengdu, a must-see place is the Leshan Great Buddha.  It’s the largest seated outdoor carved Buddha in the world.  (There are a lot of adjectives there because there are so many “largest ~~~” Buddhas.)

It’s actually huge.

This is the second time I’ve been to Leshan.  The first was post climbing Emeishan (<—clickable) when my legs were positively killing me, so my friend Kory and I decided to just take a boat to see the Buddha instead of climbing down to be right in front of it.  So it was cool this time to climb, as being beneath the Buddha really does a lot to emphasize its size.  If you go, though, be sure to go either really early in the day or really late, as the crowds can be killer.  And also, we sweat buckets.  May I suggest a trip to China in the Spring or Fall?

Leave a Reply

