2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

08-13

AHHHHH the colors!This reflects the remainder of my trip through China.  China denies any access to both facebook and wordpress, so I couldn’t update the blog.

When I was in China from August 2005 to June 2006, I was really sad because I didn’t have the time to visit Jiuzhaigou Nature Reserve, which is (I think) a UNESCO World Heritage site.  According to wikipedia (<—clickable!):

“Jiuzhaigou’s best-known feature is its dozens of blue, green and turquoise-colored lakes. The local Tibetan people call them “Haizi” in Chinese, meaning “son of the sea”. Originating in glacial activity, they were dammed by rockfalls and other natural phenomena, then solidified by processes of carbonate deposition. Some lakes have a high concentration of calcium carbonate, and their water is very clear so that the bottom is often visible even at high depths. The lakes vary in color and aspect according to their depths, residues, and surroundings.”

Aside from the scads of tourists there that shoved and pushed their way everywhere (try to go during off season if you can), I really felt like I wasn’t in China, everything was just that clean and virgin.  It took my breath away quite often.  I would gladly go back and see it in another season–especially if I had more time and less people to contend with.  And also a wide angle lens!  (Why did you have to break, 10-22?  WHYYYYYY?)

PS: I did increase saturation, but that was only because the raw editing actually DECREASED saturation–compensating because the colors are so unbelievable!

Leave a Reply

