2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

08-15

The Gansu monastery, I think.This reflects the remainder of my trip through China.  China denies any access to both facebook and wordpress, so I couldn’t update the blog.

While XXXtine and D-Mug recovered, Sabsy and I wandered through the larger of the two monasteries in Langmusi.  This one is a pretty sprawling complex, and will soon also feature an elementary school!  It is also the one that “houses” the sky burials, which can occasionally be viewed by tourists if asked about ahead of time.  (As interesting as it might be, I think I would not want to see it.  Too gruesome.)  While we were there, Sabsy and I saw some monks dancing and spinning and doing other cool things, and we found out later this was because there would be a festival with monks dressed up in masks and dancing!  Unfortunately, we missed it.  😦

Leave a Reply

