2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

09-09

I shake, gimme a break here.At one of my middle schools, I occasionally sit in with the first year students when they practice shodo, or Japanese calligraphy. My calligraphy is poor for a number of reasons, not least of which is that I do it so rarely.  But it’s a lot of fun, and it actually really helps me with my handwriting.  (For example, I learned that I was making my るろちさ etc too short on the top half.)

If you have any idea what shodo is supposed to look like, you’ll be able to tell fast what a novice I am, though there are some nice characters here.  I am particularly proud of the ち in the bottom right corner.

Leave a Reply

