2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

10-06

Way harder than it looks.I decided to practice my shodo while studying Japanese today.  The lady at the restaurant, while she thought I was very strange, said it was all right, so I busted out the ink and the brush and went for it.  There are 48 hiragana letters in what I’m trying to write.  I managed to get through three in one hour.  And I’m still not completely satisfied with the last one (は).  But at least the other two look moderately like how they’re supposed to look.

Except it took me nearly an hour just to do this much!  It’s really difficult because my hands have minor tremors, so I have to steady them against the table, else the characters appear all wobbly and awkward.  However, in shodo, you’re supposed to have a continuous motion with the brush–hard when you can’t lift or depress the brush easily because the brush is already as low as it can go.

Ah well.  It’s fun, and oddly rewarding.  Though I don’t think I have the time to do it with a dedicated teacher like many other ALTs.  Judo is my new activity, and that’s it.  Though I haven’t even started that yet, either…

Leave a Reply

