2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

10-07

Frower!Not completely satisfied with the editing job here, but not quite sure how to fix it, either.  At least I used my 30D.  Attempting this photo with my SD1100 or iPhone would have been a disaster.

In any case.

Today was ekiden, or the island-wide “marathon” relay race.  Essentially, I go to one of the parks on Iki and hang around chatting with my students from 9am-2pm and cheering as my students run by, and this is work.  My job is awesome.  And my students did really well, so I’m super proud.  It was the last year for ekiden with the traditional nine middle schools, as starting next April, they’re combining the teeny-tiny schools, so there will only be four total schools on the island.

(Though I was looking at the total number of students on the island, and I realized that it’s about the same as my single middle school back in America.  This is such a rural city.  Mind boggling.)

Anyway, it was a good time, and nice to relax instead of teach classes.

Leave a Reply

