2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

11-20

Success.Don’t let anyone tell you different: cooking for 25 people is exhausting.  Especially when that cooking is: three turkeys, two types of stuffing, broccoli casserole, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, stuffed sweet potatoes, pecan pie, rolls (failed again), and finishing up the desserts from the previous several nights.  Along with some other random bits.  I started at 8am, got the turkeys in the oven by 10am (only 12 pounders, they cooked fast), and had to leave at 5:30pm to practice fan dancing for my performance the next day, then sat down to east at 6:30.

It was insane but wonderful at the same time.  Cooking with my friends was fabulous and full of laughter.  Doing it while eating FRIGGING AMAZING American food was even better.  (I’m pretty sure the pumpkin pie (<—clickable) I made was the most delicious thing I’ve ever made in my life, hands down.  PS: I didn’t use the filling recipe GLG does.  I used my mom’s, which also calls for molasses and evaporated milk.  Anyway.)

At the end of the night, we all went around and said what we are grateful for.  Mine went something like this: “I’m grateful for everything because my life is amazing.  I’m incredibly lucky to be here, and thank you to everyone who helped me today.”  It’s true.  Especially in today’s economy, for me to find a job that pays as well as this one, where I (generally) enjoy the work, get to live in a foreign country, have fantastically low rent and full health and dental coverage…well, it’s great.  Thank you, Thanksgiving, for reminding me of that.

Even if I do miss my parents, the fam, and my friends in America.  (Hugs!)

Leave a Reply

