2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

12-05

It's Christmastime!Day two of baking cookies!  In addition to making snickerdoodles and gingersnaps, today we decorated the sugar cookies.  It was a long undertaking, and we didn’t even decorate all of them!  (I’m using about 80 to teach a class at one of my elementary schools.  Yeah, helping 8-year-olds decorate cookies for Christmas!)  We didn’t have that many decorations or colors, so I got creative: dipping green-iced trees in sugar to make them look “snowy” (and white-iced bears in sugar to make polar bears).  Swirling icing.  I cut up some chocolate to use for eyes and the like.  And then we had a few sprinkles.

Didn’t make as many cookies as I would have liked, and I’m also missing two of the classics–Holiday Poppyseed Cookies and Russian Tea Cakes (snowballs).  But I think I may make those when I’m in London.

😀  YAY IT’S CHRISTMAS SEASON.

Leave a Reply

