2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

12-14

I'm so immature.Well, I’ve been putting off taking a photo of this shrine since it kinda shows how silly I can be.  But we’re getting near the wire of 2010, and in order to show off Iki, I have to talk about this shrine.

This is the infamous Iki fertility shrine: Sen Jinja.  It’s one of the places (usually the first) I take any visitors.  Mostly because I’m super immature.  It is right smack dab in the middle of “downtown” Gounoura (the largest “city” on the island), sitting between some clothing stores and restaurants.  And, if you can’t tell because I purposefully blurred it, it’s also home to a giant–maybe 2.5 meter–wooden penis.  (There’s a smaller, golden one inside the shrine proper.)  Any new ALT to Iki must take a picture with the penis.  Preferably hugging it.  We are simple, silly folk here.  And though the shrine may be holy, us westerners gaijin smash our way through it.

I do love Japan.

Leave a Reply

