2010 – Iki-shi, Nagasaki-ken, Japan, Earth

12-31

First time trying foie gras.Happy 2012, my three readers!  And holy guacamole, I finished the 365 project! But don’t worry, a few more pictures (or just one) plus an overview is to come.

The above was taken at the New Years Eve dinner Nikki and I attended.  Of course, in the morning we went a-sightseeing at Vaux le Vicomte, the chateau that inspired Louis XIV to not only arrest/kill his Chancellor at the time, but also change Versailles from a measly hunting lodge to the grand and decadent palace it is today.  And as beautiful as Vaux is, the real event of the night was eating a typical french meal (including, as you may be able to tell above, foie gras) with a lovely and kind family that Nikki knows (not her au pair family).  Not only did it include four DELICIOUS courses and lots and lots of fabulous cheese (mmm, cheese), but we had a bottle of wine with each course that was fantastic.  The one above?  An apertif (sweet/dessert) from 1990.  Nearly as old as I am!  You can’t see the electric bread warmer, but I totally want one of those, too.  The conversation was occasionally stilted as it occurred in both French and English, but it was interested and flowing and mostly unawkward.  And also, the couple’s children are adorable.

A fabulous way to ring in 2011.  Makes me never want to leave Paris!

6 responses

  1. I’m glad you’re having a good time! I’m actually gunna be a little sad that I won’t get any more awesome daily pictures…

    January 2, 2011 at 17:48

    • K@

      Don’t worry, I’ll put photos on the main blog, just maybe not as often as I have this one. And, of course, there are more photos to look forward to from my Paris adventures. 😀

      January 3, 2011 at 03:04

  2. Marie

    What will you be doing after you are back from your vacation? Is this the end of your blog? I think you have more than 2 readers because i follow you all the time. 🙂

    January 3, 2011 at 11:45

    • K@

      I know! THREE readers. 😉
      I’ll be going back to Japan and back to work teaching little snot-nosed kids English. (Actually, they’re adorable.) I will continue to take photos, posting them on my flickr page and the best ones on my blog proper. And there will be another one or two blog posts on here–a “best of,” as it were. And what-not. Thanks for reading!

      January 3, 2011 at 17:10

  3. I just started doing this myself this year. I did try to start last year, but it lasted 14 days…pretty pitiful really =) It’s really nice to see someone finished and I’m going to go back and start from the beginning. Thanks!

    January 14, 2011 at 22:06

    • K@

      You can do it! It’s tough, but not impossible. You just have to keep going through those days that you almost, almost forget.

      January 16, 2011 at 07:57

Leave a Reply

